Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology / Director, Department of Medical Research / Université Côte d’Azur Medical Faculty / Nice, France


Emmanuel Van Obberghen, MD, PhD Emmanuel Van Obberghen is an internationally recognized expert in insulin action and beta cell response. Dr. Van Obberghen received his MD (1971) and PhD (1975) from the Free University of Brussels, Belgium. From 1975 to 1980 he was research associate in the Diabetes Branch of the National Institutes of Health, where he was involved in pioneering studies of the insulin receptor and its alterations in disease. Since 1980 he has been directing one of the premier diabetes research laboratories in Europe in the Medical Faculty of Nice, France. From 1995 to 2015, he served as Professor and Chairman of the Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology at the Medical Faculty, and Chief of Clinical Chemistry of the University Hospitals. He was also Vice-President of Research of the Board of Directors, and President of the Committee of Biomedical Research and Public Health of the University Hospitals from 2008 to 2015. He is currently Director of the Medical Research Department of the Medical Faculty. He has served and serves on numerous national and international scientific committees in the field of diabetes and endocrinology, and on several editorial boards of key scientific journals. He has also chaired and hosted the International Symposium on Insulin Receptors and Insulin action. For much as his career, Dr. Van Obberghen’s research has focused on the mechanisms of insulin action and the pathophysiology of insulin resistance and type 2 diabetes. His more recent work focuses on the role of microRNAs as regulators of insulin secretion and action. As a result of his many scientific contributions, Dr. Van Obberghen has been recognized by major international awards including the Silver and Gold Morgagni Medals, the Jacobaeus Lecture Award of the NovoNordisk Foundation, the Minkowski and Claude Bernard Award of the EASD (the highest awards of the EASD for research), the Paul Langerhans Medal of the German Diabetes Society, the C. Ronald Kahn Distinguished Lectureship of the Joslin Diabetes Center, Harvard Medical School and the Roger Assan Award of the Francophone Diabetes Association.